Mistakes

Don’t you hate it when you are making your blocks and you finally finish and you spot your mistake? I know I do. This is exactly what happened two weeks ago during Open Sew. It didn’t happen to just me. It happened to five other guild members! Everyone was using their mighty seam ripper. Except me. I embraced my mistakes and kept working along. The only reason I didn’t redo any of my blocks is because they were ALL wrong. I made the decision to take a liberal interpretation of the pattern. I didn’t huff or puff. I just realized that the baby wouldn’t know it was wrong and neither would the mother.

IMG_20170401_140252064
Can you spot my mistakes?

Lately, I’ve been thinking about my next quilt. I already have a list of wannabees but it just keeps growing! Bonnie K Hunter has a free quilt pattern called Jacob Takes a Wife. I’ve been wanting to make this quilt for one of Andrew’s friends, Ash, who is getting married. Their wedding colors are silver and maroon/burgundy. I’m not a big fan of the colors. It just screams 1990s Quinceañera. However, it is not my wedding and therefore I have to work with what I was given. I started combining other colors to see if I can make it less 1990s. I tried a dust rose and an olive green. Ick!! Reminds me of my grandmother’s old bedspread. I’m going to keep working on it, but so far I have nothing. Despite not knowing what color scheme I end up with, I save everything to my Quilter’s Planner. What colors would you recommend?

This weekend, I didn’t get a chance to sew. I had to take the Graduate Writing Exam for my university. However, after the test, I did get a chance to go on the Bunny Hop, a shop hop, featuring: Quilter’s Cocoon, Sewn Together, Orange Quilt Bee, The Quilt Cupboard, and The Sew’N’Sew. Each quilt shop gave out free table runner patterns and a fat quarter. The fat quarters were not from coordinating fabrics so I went for the white/neutral fabrics. I’m starting my stash for the next mystery quilt.

IMG_20170409_104144815

While on the run, I bought the following items, a doxies pattern and two yards of fabric, from Quilter’s Cocoon. The fabric was in the sale section ($6 a yard). It matches fabric I have for a carpenter’s star quilt. I truly take my time when I’m purchasing fabric. I try to create kits and so far I’ve been doing an amazing job at gathering fabric for kits. NO NEW FABRIC WITHOUT A PURPOSE!

At Sewn Together, I bought a scrappy patterns book by Moda All-Stars. I’m working on getting my scraps in order so I can make a scrappy quilt. I just think they are so interesting to look at. Scrappy quilts are great for little kids. Imagine playing I Spy with a scrappy quilt.

Mini soap box rant: Please, please! Purchase from your local quilt stores! I cannot emphasize this enough. My boyfriend found the scraps book for only $16 on Amazon. I paid $26. Yes. I know it’s cheaper. But Amazon cannot help me read the pattern if I get stuck. Amazon will not help me pick fabric or tell me which tools work the best. Amazon does not create shop hops where quilters meet new people.

IMG_20170409_104118838

What do you have lined up for your wannabees? This is my list for the year:

  1. UFO En Provence Mystery Quilt – being quilted and needs to be bound
  2. Yellow Brick Road Jurassic Jamboree- needs to be pieced, basted, quilted, and bound
  3. UFO Flogging Molly – needs to be quilted and bound
  4. Tutorial – needs to be pieced
  5. UFO Parrot Applique – needs to be pieced, basted, quilted, and bound
  6. Receiving Blanket Jurassic Jamboree – needs to be pieced
  7. UFO Watermelon – needs to be pieced, basted, quilted, and bound
  8. Mini ironing cover – needs to be pieced, basted, quilted, and bound
  9. UFO Traditional Hawaiian Appliqued Sea Turtles – needs to be appliqued, basted, quilted and bound
  10. Dixie Jurassic Jamboree Puppy – needs to be pieced and stuffed
  11. Dixie Michael Miller’s Viking Puppy – needs to be pieced and stuffed
  12. UFO Purple Hexies – needs to be basted, quilted, and bound

Leave a comment